Deleting Pro Tools Preference, Workspace, and WaveCache files


These are important steps in order to resolve various issues, such as assertion errors, graphic or display problems, and other intermittent issues not specifically hardware or compatibility related. Be sure to quit Pro Tools before deleting these files, and restart your computer afterwards. The files will be recreated next time Pro Tools is launched.

Pro Tools Preferences

This procedure will reset Pro Tools preferences to a default state. Try this to correct odd or erratic behavior in the application:

Go to folder ~/Library/Preferences/Avid/Pro Tools

      From the Finder, click on the Go menu in the menu bar.
      Select Go to Folder.
      Type in the following: ~/Library/Preferences/Avid/Pro Tools and click Go.

    Delete all files in this folder, including:

      AvidListFile.txt
      DSIPrefs
      InstalledAAXPlugins
      Last Used.pio
      Pro Tools Prefs
      updater.properties

Pro Tools Workspace database files

Try deleting these if you experience file-based issues, such as problems searching for audio files in the Workspace. 

Deleting the Workspace preference files is helpful if you are experiencing issues with the Workspace window or file related glitches such as, if your audio/video files don’t appear in the Workspace window or they have the wrong path name. Deleting the Workspace preferences will not erase any audio or video files, however, if you created any catalogs in the Workspace, you will want to back them up before following the directions below because they will be deleted.


    Go to folder /Users/Shared/Pro Tools

      From the Finder, click on the Go menu in the menu bar.
      Select Go to Folder.
      Type in the following: /Users/Shared/Pro Tools and click Go.

    Delete the Pro Tools folder, which contains the following two files:

      Workspace.wksp
      WaveCache.wfm